your opinion on learning English

Temat przeniesiony do archwium.
What do you think? Why do we larn English? To have the ability to communicate with the others, or to know a lot about this language, or to show off, or... When I read some comments here and read about how to use this language, which word is perfect, 100 posts about pronunciation of one word I'm starting to think about the main reason of every language : COMMUNICATION. We are perfect in grammar, in all the rules but very often then we go to English speaking country and have problems to understand others. So my appeal to everybody in here: first think why do you want to learn English?
And I'm sure now a lot of you will be trying to correct all my mistakes :) but it's not about that.
I started learning English out of fashion and willingness to show off I can use it.
I continued learning it for practical purposes e.g. making money, being able to read state-of-the-art scientific articles. I decided to take CPE just to be able to get better job or start officially teach and translate.
I've started learning english long time ago, thanks to my parents. They tought it'll be good for me, and it's obvious they were right ;) Now, as I'm older, I can tell that main reason to learn english is communication, indeed :)
Although i don't like the sound of the language it's told to be a new esperanto let's say, so it's told to be the most important reason than!
its basically an international language and its the best thing I can see in it :d on the other hand I am forced to learn because I live here in England, well, anyway, I enjoy it. What else is such easy and logical? :D