my English has plateaued

Temat przeniesiony do archwium.
1-30 z 41
poprzednia |
Hello everyone, I've been learning English for the past 14 years. I was 13 years old when I started learning English which was quite late to start learning a foreign language, I think that If I started learning English 5 years earlier I wouldn't be having this problem. To make the matters worse I was very lazy at the time and I didn't take English seriously until I was 16 years old, by then I started to make a very nice progress which unfortunately came to a screeching halt after 3 years of intense study. Since then I feel like I'm no longer improving my English, it feels like my English has plateaued way too early for my liking and no matter the amount of effort I expend to progress further it's all for nothing. For a time learning new words was my way to do something about my English so I didn't feel stuck in the same place but diminishing returns kicked in, right now I don't feel like the size of my vocabulary is holding me back in any way. Any advice how to make myself a better speaker? Unfortunately deep down I feel that it's as far as I can go and trying to improve my English is just a wasted effort because I already fulfilled my limited potential.
Neurolinguists call this phenomenon 'second language attrition'. I guess this is the process you have probably been going through.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Second-language_attrition

And it's never late to start learning a foreign language unless you are dead already, so that's kind of bull in my opinion:)
But it's definitely late to start learning to play the piano at 13 if you want to become a professional piano player. But with the human mind it's different I guess. It works in mysterious ways. I know it first hand:)